Missouri State University - West Plains

Honorary Degree

Missouri State University-West Plains bestows honorary degrees to recognize and honor exceptional men and women who have given a substantial part of their lives to serving others and/or who have distinguished themselves.  Conferral of honorary degrees also establishes a public association between Missouri State University-West Plains and such exceptional men and women, thereby providing testimony to the values and quality of two-year institutions.

Members of the community as well as the University's Administrative Council, Faculty Senate and Staff Senate are invited to nominate recipients for an honorary degree.  The degree granted may be the Honorary Associate of Arts Degree, Honorary Associate of Applied Science Degree or Honorary Associate of Science Degree.  Honorary degrees are conferred during spring commencement exercises and announced prior to the commencement ceremony.  The recipient (or a representative of the family) should agree to be present at the commencement exercises.  The honorary degree does not have to be awarded each year.

Recipients may not be (at the time of the award) current employees, incumbent members of the Board of Governors or incumbent officials of federal, state or local government.  Other criteria to be considered include a nominee's:

  • Eminent contribution to the college, the system, the community, the state or society;

  • Eminent achievement in a particular field or endeavor;
  • Personal status that will enhance the reputation of the college or system and serve as an example to its students and alumni;
  • Potential for contribution to the goals or welfare of the college

The deadline for submitting nominations for Spring 2015 commencement is February 20, 2015.

Honorary Degree Nomination Form (Microsoft Office Word)


Honorary Degree Recipients

Kennoth Gammill
Paul Childers
Edith Williams
Peggy Kissinger