University Profile

Missouri State University is a public, comprehensive University system with a mission in public affairs. Our purpose is to develop fully educated persons with a focus on ethical leadership, cultural competence and community engagement.

The System

The Missouri State University system has four physical campuses, including a selective admissions campus in Springfield, a two-year open admissions campus at West Plains, a fruit science and agriculture research campus at Mountain Grove and a branch campus in Dalian, China, in partnership with Liaoning Normal University (LNU).

West Plains Campus

Missouri State-West Plains offers educational programs that meet a wide range of needs. For over 50 years, the college has grown to offer a liberal arts transfer curriculum at the freshman and sophomore levels and selected occupational programs, as well as extended learning opportunities through online courses and campuses in Mountain Grove and in Dalian, China, the latter of which is made possible through Missouri State University's existing branch campus at LNU.

The campus also provides advanced technical training through the Greater Ozarks Center for Advanced Technology (GOCAT), a partnership between the University, the City of West Plains and the West Plains R-7 School District's South Central Career Center.

A full college experience with quality instruction in a relaxed, personal atmosphere is the hallmark of Missouri State University-West Plains. The campus promotes academic and personal success for students through small classes, personalized attention, educational support services and numerous opportunities to participate in extracurricular activities.


The campus consists of five classroom and administrative buildings—Kellett Hall, M.O. Looney Hall, Emory L. Melton Hall, Michael J. Lybyer Enhanced Technology Center and Garfield Hall; as well as the Garnett Library, the Grizzly House residence hall, Putnam Student Center, the Broadway Building, Richards House, Gohn Hall, the Student Recreation Center and Pennsylvania House. In addition, the campus skyline is punctuated by the Smith-London Centennial Bell Tower and Grizzly statue. The University also manages the Grizzly Lofts residence hall located close to campus on Missouri Avenue.

In summer 2018, the campus will open Hass-Darr Hall, which will house the Carol Silvey Student Union, V.H. Drago College Store, William and Virginia Darr Honors Program, Veterans Center, the Admissions Welcome Center, tutoring services and other much-needed classroom and administrative office space that will enhance student learning and academic success.


Missouri State University-West Plains was founded in 1963 as the West Plains Residence Center. In 1977, the Southwest Missouri State University Board of Regents and, subsequently, the Missouri General Assembly, designated the name West Plains campus of Southwest Missouri State University to replace Residence Center. In 1981, the legislature enacted a permanent status bill for the campus. In 1991, the legislature passed House Bill 51 which gave the West Plains campus the authority to offer "one-year certificates, two-year associate degrees and credit and noncredit courses." In 2005, the legislature passed Senate Bill 98 which included changing Southwest Missouri State University's name to Missouri State University, effective August 28, 2005.


Missouri State University-West Plains is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, 230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500, Chicago, IL 60604-1411. Phone: (800) 621-7440/(312) 263-0456, Fax: (312) 263-7462,

Addresses of Campus Locations

Missouri State University-West Plains campus

128 Garfield Avenue
West Plains, MO 65775

Missouri State University-West Plains, Mountain Grove campus

401 East 17th Street
Mountain Grove, MO 65711

Liaoning Normal University

Missouri State University-West Plains, Dalian campus

850 Huanghe Rd
Shahekou Qu, Dalian Shi
Liaoning Sheng, China 116021